South Salem High School’s award-winning Broadcast Journalism program has done it again. It’s added another prestigious award to the long list accolades teacher Brian Eriksen and his students have gotten over the years.

Past awards have include two students being named Oregon High School Journalist of the Year, and two other students co-hosting the Oregon Sports Awards. Several students have won local and statewide video contests in the recent past.

This year, the Saxons added the national 2019 Journalism Press Freedom Award to their showcase.

This award is sponsored by the Journalism Education Association, the National Scholastic Press Association and the Quill and Scroll International Honor Society at Kansas State University.

The award was presented to South Salem at the Spring National High School Journalism Convention on April 24th in Anaheim, California.

South Salem is one of just 12 high schools across the nation to win the award this year, and Saxons are the first Oregon school to ever to win the Journalism Press Freedom Award in its 20 year history.

The award recognizes high schools that actively support, teach and protect First Amendment rights and responsibilities. It focuses on schools where students make final decisions about the content on student-run media.

Broadcast Journalism is one of six Career and Technical Education programs at South Salem High School.

Students learn about writing, reporting, editing and social media at The Clypian, which is the school newspaper and news website.

They study video projection at Saxon TV, and print design and publishing by working on the school yearbook, called the Sword & Shield.

Mr. Eriksen says students who are a part of this year’s Broadcast Journalism program are hard-working teens who have accomplished a lot and are willing to take chances.

He says they do a tremendous job in reaching out to the student body to make sure everyone’s voice is heard.

Congratulations South Salem Broadcast Journalism on another proud achievement. We can’t wait to see what you do next year!