NEP 网页横幅

nanich pus kəmtəks

追求知识

计划概述

土著教育计划为美洲印第安人和阿拉斯加土著学生提供计划和服务以及丰富文化的机会。
  • 学术辅导
  • 高中本土俱乐部
  • 家庭充实之夜
  • 新能源毕业典礼
  • 一年一度的爱安庆典
  • 基于文化的学术暑期学校

我们还为学校会议、大学和奖学金信息以及指导提供家庭和学生宣传。 我们的使命是让所有学生毕业并拥有成功的生活。

文化充实之夜!

介绍 Mariah Gladstone,
她开发了 Indigikitchen,一个在线烹饪平台,一个烹饪节目,教授传统的美国原住民食谱,以振兴和重新想象本土食物,我们将把它与 Ken Carano 博士的 Geography 结合在一起。

这是 28 月 XNUMX 日举行的互动式在线 ZOOM 活动,我们正在努力使我们的“充实之夜”录音可供日后观看。

第3部分!!

与 Judy Bluehorse Skelton 一起的充实之夜

本土教育通讯!

(在这里下载)

土著讲故事之夜!

我们聚在一起看这个系列的第二个, 27月XNUMX日,星期四 与广受赞誉的作家蒂姆·廷格尔 (Tim Tingle) 共度一个讲故事和神秘主义的夜晚!

这将是一个互动的在线ZOOM活动!

加入这里!    密码:079883

第2部分!!讲故事之夜 27 月 6 日下午 XNUMX 点

2021爱安庆典!

加入我们,庆祝土著传统月,举办第四届年度美洲印第安人阿拉斯加土著庆祝活动,庆祝土著艺术和文化。 今年我们有特邀嘉宾“Mike Bone”Lil Mike 和来自 Hulu 热播剧 Reservation Dogs 的Funny Bone。 该虚拟活动将由 Fish Martinez aka 4thaNative 主持。 整个晚上将有一个特别的学生艺术展示和其他学生主导的活动! 请务必填写下面的调查问卷,它将有助于指导我们明年的计划!

看这里!

爱安庆典海报

2022年NEP毕业庆典

2022年毕业本土教育毕业庆典

自 90 年代中期以来,本土教育计划和家长咨询委员会赞助了这次特别庆祝活动,以纪念本土教育毕业生获得文凭,以及那些获得高中毕业和 GED 的学生。 您可以在我们的网站上查看毕业要求。

今年,本土教育毕业庆典定于 星期日5月15th, 在 4:00下午 并将在 俄勒冈州塞勒姆的北塞勒姆高中礼堂. 正式的庆祝活动涉及 300-400 人,包括土著鼓、护色员、祝福、毕业生礼物和主讲人。 所有学生都将获得手工制作的传家宝品质彭德尔顿羊毛毕业披肩、珠饰羽毛和带框毕业证书。 仪式的照片可从我们的网站下载。 此外,毕业典礼可能会在 Capitol Community Media 上拍摄和播放。

作为仪式的一部分,我们通过说几句话来感谢每个学生。 请填写 在线高级生物表格 与您的学生一起确保他们被正确识别并不迟于提交 11 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日,星期三, 如果您需要纸质表格,请发送电子邮件至gutierrez_flora@salkeiz.k12.or.us 索取。

 NEP 2021-22 日历

太尔新闻

现在每周一和周三提供学术辅导!

学术辅导学术辅导传单

学生可以通过Canvas加入 这里!

地区新闻中的本地埃德

  • 本土教育计划

2022 年本土教育计划 PAC 选举现已开始

15年2022月XNUMX日|

今天投票! 2022 年本土教育计划 PAC 选举来了! 请花点时间投票。 投票于 27 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日星期五截止。家长咨询委员会帮助指导本土教育计划的方向,它让我们的家庭和社区在本土教育中拥有发言权和帮助。 编程和 [...]

  • 2021 年美洲原住民传统月

欢迎来到 2021 年美洲原住民传统月

1 年2021月XNUMX日|

上周,Christy Perry 警司访问了 Yamhill 县 Grand Ronde 社区的联盟部落。 以下是佩里警司为表彰美洲原住民传统月而发来的信息。 佩里警司访问 Grand Ronde 联盟部落 最近,我有幸参观了 Grand Ronde 联盟部落社区 [...]

  • /a

美洲印第安人阿拉斯加原住民庆祝活动 - 6 月 XNUMX 日星期六

1 年2021月XNUMX日|

与我们一起在 2021 月的 28 年美洲印第安人阿拉斯加土著人庆典上与我们一起庆祝美洲印第安人阿拉斯加土著月。庆祝活动的特色是来自 Hulu 热播剧“保留犬”和“美国达人秀”的 Lil Mike 和有趣的骨头,以及特邀嘉宾主持人鱼马丁内斯,又名“XNUMXthNative”。 演示包括现场问答! 由 [...]

  • 学生跳舞

社区学习会议 – 8 月 XNUMX 日,星期一

1 年2021月XNUMX日|

社区学习会议:政府与政府之间的关系 在 Salem-Keizer 的第一次社区学习会议期间了解部落政府的历史 Salem-Keizer 公立学校正在与社区合作,在整个 2021-22 学年提供一系列社区学习会议。 第一次会议的主题是政府间关系,将由 [...]

新经济政策日历

本土教育项目团队!

认识 NEP 团队!

谢尔比·梅尔兹

谢尔比·梅尔兹

Grand Ronde 联邦部落的公民是本土教育项目的项目助理。 她身兼数职,但最重要的是确保本土教育计划的细节和细节都恰到好处。 凭借对整个计划的广泛了解和 NEP 宇宙指南,谢尔比可能知道答案。 我们认为 Kitty Purry 会同意。

谢尔比·梅尔兹

弗洛拉·古铁雷斯

Flora 是我们的高级秘书,她是车轮上的润滑剂,使本地教育计划的一切顺利进行。 她确保所有的 t 都是交叉的,我是点缀的,并且她自己是丰富的知识。 她非常关心我们所服务的学生和社区,并不遗余力地帮助完成看到所有学生毕业并为成功生活做好准备的使命。 

谢尔比·梅尔兹

詹妮弗·胡克

Jennifer 是 Choctaw 印第安人 Mowa Band 的公民,也是本土教育的招聘专家,她帮助确保所有 AI/AN 学生都能获得 NEP 提供的项目和服务,她直接与 CRF 合作以确保我们所有的学生被计算在内。 在为我们的学生提供服务时,她会亲自动手,并且是一个很好的人,可以谈论如何让您的学生参与 NEP。

文化资源促进者

文化资源促进者的作用是弥合 AI/AN 社区和 SKPS 的学生和家庭之间的差距。 我们充当学生和家庭的资源,可以充当 AI/AN 学生其他资源的渠道,我们参加学校会议、IEP、家长教师会议等,并协助向我们的高中学生获取资源(很快将包括k-12) 通过我们新创建的 Native Clubs 网络。 我们还直接与学校和教职员工合作以满足学生的需求,我们会跟踪我们的学生,并在毕业前提供支持和指导!

北塞勒姆

(北塞勒姆,麦凯馈线系统罗伯茨/Alt Ed)

Che Finch(芬奇先生)

Willowa 乐队和 Whitebird 乐队 Nimiipuu(内兹珀斯部落)和 Ft. 的公民。 McDermott Northern Paiute,Finch 先生是一名艺术家、司仪和制片人,他在自己的时间为 North Salem、McKay 和 Roberts 高中和 Feeder 系统服务,担任文化资源协调人。 

谢尔比·梅尔兹

南塞勒姆

(南塞勒姆和斯普拉格高中馈线系统。)

库努·比查姆

HoChunk 民族和北夏延的公民。 Kunu 是一名表演艺术家和电影制作人,在业余时间为 Sprague 和 South 高中和馈线系统提供文化资源协调员。

谢尔比·梅尔兹

西塞勒姆/凯泽

(西塞勒姆,麦克纳里高中馈线系统)

稀树草原里拉托斯

西莱茨联盟部落的公民。 Savanna 对土著青年充满热情,是一名美洲土著研究学生,作为文化资源协调员为 McNary 和 West 高中和馈线系统服务。

谢尔比·梅尔兹

本土教育计划有很多方面,我们致力于确保我们的 AI/AN 人口在塞勒姆凯泽公立学校系统中被计算在内并获得公平的资源。 如果您有任何问题,我们邀请您与我们中的任何一位取得联系。

联系我们

联系电话:

503-399-5512

联系地址:

保卢斯管理中心
本土教育计划
1309 渡轮街 SE
Salem,或97301

NEP Web Banner

nanich pus kəmtəks

In Pursuit of Knowledge

Program Overview

The Native Education Program provides Programs and Services and Cultural Enrichment opportunities for American Indian and Alaska Native students.
  • Academic Coaching
  • Native Clubs for High School
  • Family Enrichment Nights
  • NEP Graduation Ceremony
  • Annual AIAN Celebration
  • Culturally-based Academic Summer School

We also provide family and student advocacy for school meetings, college and scholarship info, as well as mentoring. Our mission is that all students graduate and have a successful life.

Cultural Enrichment Night!

Introduces Mariah Gladstone,
She developed Indigikitchen, an online cooking platform, a cooking show that teaches traditional Native American recipes to revitalize and re-imagine Native foods, and we’ll be tying it all together with Geography by Dr. Ken Carano.

This was an interactive online ZOOM event that took place April 28th, we are working on making our Enrichment Night recordings available for later viewing.

Part3!!

Enrichment Night w/ Judy Bluehorse Skelton

Native Ed Newsletter!

(Download Here)

Indigenous Storytelling Night!

We come together for the second of this series, Thursday January 27th with acclaimed author Tim Tingle for a night of storytelling and mysticism!

This will be an interactive online ZOOM event!

JOIN HERE!!    Passcode:079883

Part2!!Storytelling Night January 27th 6pm

2021 AIAN Celebration!

Join us as we ring in Native Heritage Month with the 4th annual American Indian Alaskan Native Celebration, a celebration of Native Arts and Culture. This year we have special guests “Mike Bone” Lil Mike and Funny Bone from the Hulu hit series Reservation Dogs. This virtual event will by guest hosted by Fish Martinez aka 28thaNative. There will be a special Student Art Showcase and other student led activities throughout the evening! Please be sure to fill out the survey below, it will help guide our program for next year!

Watch it here!

AIAN Celebration Poster

2022 NEP Graduation Celebration

2022  Graduation Native Education Graduation Celebration

Since the mid 90’s, the Native Education Program, and Parent Advisory Committee have sponsored this special celebration in honor of Native Education graduates earning a diploma, as well as those earning High School completion and GED.  You can review graduation requirements on our website.

This year, the Native Education Graduation Celebration is scheduled for Sunday May 15th, at 4:00 p.m. and will be held at the North Salem High School Auditorium in Salem, Oregon.  The formal celebration involves 300-400 people and includes a Native drum, color guard, blessing, gifting of the graduates, and a keynote speaker.  All students will be gifted with a handmade heirloom quality Pendleton Wool Graduation Stole, a beaded feather and framed graduation certificate.  Photos of the ceremony will be available to download from our website. Additionally, the graduation ceremony may be filmed and broadcast on Capitol Community Media.

As part of the ceremony, we acknowledge each student by saying a few words about them.  Please complete the online Senior bio form with your student to ensure they are properly recognized and submitted no later than Wednesday, May 11th, 2022, if you need a paper form please request one by emailing, gutierrez_flora@salkeiz.k12.or.us.

 NEP 2021-22 Calendar

Announcements

Academic Coaching Now Available Mondays and Wednesdays!

Academic CoachingAcademic Coaching Flier

Students can join through Canvas HERE!

Native Ed in the District News

  • Native Education Program

Native Education Program 2022 PAC election now open

May 15, 2022|

Vote Today! The Native Education Program 2022 PAC elections are here! Please take time to vote. Voting closes on Friday, May 27, 2022. The Parent Advisory Committee helps to steer the direction of the Native Education Program, it gives our families and community a voice and a hand in Native Ed. programming and [...]

  • Native American Heritage Month 2021

Welcome to Native American Heritage Month 2021

November 1, 2021|

Superintendent Christy Perry visited the Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde community in Yamhill County last week. Below is a message from Superintendent Perry in recognition of Native American Heritage Month. Superintendent Perry visits Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde Recently, I had the wonderful opportunity to visit the Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde community in [...]

  • /a

American Indian Alaskan Native Celebration – Saturday, Nov. 6

November 1, 2021|

Join us in celebrating American Indian Alaskan Native Month in November at the American Indian Alaskan Native Celebration 2021. The celebration features Lil Mike & Funny Bone from the Hulu hit series "Reservation Dogs" and "America's Got Talent," along with special guest host Fish Martinez, aka "28thaNative." Presenation includes live Q&A's! Presented by the [...]

  • Students dancing

Community Learning Session – Monday, Nov. 8

November 1, 2021|

Community Learning Session: Government to Government Relations Learn about Tribal government history during Salem-Keizer’s first Community Learning Session Salem-Keizer Public Schools is partnering with the community to provide a series of Community Learning Sessions throughout the 2021-22 school year. The topic for the first meeting is Government-to-Government Relations and will be hosted by the [...]

NEP Calendar

The Native Education Program Team!

Meet the NEP Team!

Shelby Maerz

Shelby Maerz

Citizen of the Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde is the Program Associate for the Native Education Program. She wears many hats, but most importantly ensures the nuts and bolts of the Native Education Program are good and tight. With an expansive knowledge of the Program as a whole and a guide to the NEP Universe, Shelby may just know the answer. We think Kitty Purry would agree.

Shelby Maerz

Flora Gutierrez

Flora is our Senior Secretary, she is the grease on the wheels that keep everything running smooth with the Native Education Program. She ensures that all t’s are crossed and i’s dotted, and is herself a wealth of knowledge. She cares deeply about the students and community we serve and leaves no stone unturned to help in the mission of seeing all students graduate and prepare for a successful life. 

Shelby Maerz

Jennifer Hook

Jennifer is a Citizen of the Mowa Band of Choctaw Indians and is the Recruitment Specialist for Native Education, she helps to ensure all AI/AN Students have access to the programs and services NEP Provides, she works directly with the CRF’s to ensure all of our students are counted. She is hands on when it comes to serving our students and is a great person to talk to about how to get your student involved with NEP.

Cultural Resource Facilitators

The role of Cultural Resource Facilitator is to bridge the gap between students and families of the AI/AN Community and SKPS. We act as a resource for students and families and can act as a conduit for other resources for AI/AN Students, we attend school meetings, IEP’s, parent teacher conferences etc. and assist with getting resources to our High School students (soon to include k-12) through our newly created Native Clubs network. We also work directly with schools and staff to address students needs, we keep track of our students and are there to offer support and guidance along the trail to graduation!

North Salem

(North Salem, McKay feeder system Roberts/Alt Ed)

Che Finch (Mr.Finch)

Citizen of the Willowa Band and Whitebird Band Nimiipuu (Nez Perce Tribe) and Ft. McDermott Northern Paiute, Mr. Finch is an artist, emcee, producer in his own time and serves the North Salem, McKay, and Roberts High Schools and Feeder system as a Cultural Resource Facilitator. 

Shelby Maerz

South Salem

(South Salem, and Sprague High School feeder system.)

Kunu Bearchum

Citizen of the HoChunk Nation, and Northern Cheyenne. Kunu is a performing artist and filmmaker in his spare time and serves the Sprague, and South High Schools and feeder system as a Cultural Resource Facilitator.

Shelby Maerz

West Salem/ Keizer

(West Salem, McNary Highschool feeder system)

Savanna Rilatos

Citizen of the Confederated Tribes of Siletz. Savanna is passionate about Native Youth and is a Native American Studies student, serves the McNary and West High Schools and feeder system as a Cultural Resource Facilitator.

Shelby Maerz

There are many facets to the Native Education Program, and we are committed to ensure that our AI/AN population are counted and given equitable resources in the Salem Keizer Public School system. We invite you to get in touch with any one of us if you have any questions.

Contact Us

Phone:

503-399-5512

Address:

Paulus Admin Center
Native Education Program
1309 Ferry St SE
Salem, OR 97301